About

William Rand

Bienvenidos a mis amigos latinos and welcome to my English speaking friends in whatever country you live. For my past and, hopefully, future readers, I wanted to include a bit about my life. Here is the short version. I was born and raised in Philadelphia, and I have been writing stories for most of my life. Although most have carried themes of social protest, the genres have included horror, science fiction and erotica. In addition to writing, I have spent the last twenty-four years teaching English composition, literature, cultural studies, ESL, and especially, creative writing. I have taught English in the United States, Costa Rica and Mexico. During my travels, I managed to earn my Ph.D. in literature and my TESOL certificate, and, in addition to fiction, I have published a few articles on topics such as literature, herpetology, and weightlifting. I like to read practically anything from comedy, Shakespeare, history and biographies to erotica, detective fiction and horror.

I despise censorship in any form; I want to be able to read and write whatever I please. After living under the yoke of feminism for so long, I am concerned about men’s issues and the social oppression of political correctness. Of course, I can go to the internet or into any bookstore and buy pretty much whatever I want of whatever is available. However, despite the recent explosion of published erotica, it seems that we have fewer socially acceptable options. Book editors more often say what they will not publish. Bookstores more often say what they will not stock. Socially, legally or economically, political correctness rules. Nevertheless, I follow my own philosophy of writing, described best by Ray Bradbury in his classic work of science fiction, Fahrenheit 451: A Novel:

Bradbury quote image 1

I have lived in five states, and I have traveled to China and through a good part of Central and South America. I have generally found a greater sense of justice there for men. I live with my wife in Mexico. In addition to writing, I am now trying to improve my Spanish with my wife’s help and get back into the gym. My wife Marbella and I also travel throughout Mexico and raise reptiles, including a ball python and a couple of turtles.

One response

14 01 2013
Tena Fventes

I like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am quite sure I will learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s